COUNT YOUR BLESSINGS

DSC00775

January 4th

The other day I sat and decided to write down my Blessings of the previous year. I began by listing the twelve months and thought I would write one event per month. Next thing I knew, there were two, then three events or situations. Finally I ran out of room. So I listed the twelve months again and began the process all over! There is magic in doing this exercise. Some of the miracles that had unfolded for last year had not come to mind for a long time. This exercise gave me the opportunity to relive the event and be Thankful all over again and it felt great!

This year I may list my Blessings monthly. No, actually I think I will do this weekly; better still how about on a daily basis. When we remain in a state of sincere gratitude our Blessings seem to manifest at a faster pace. Or when we are focused on our Blessings life is wonderful.

So start today and make your gratitude list. My list begins with waking up this morning, with or without an alarm clock. The fact that I woke up is a Blessing. Next is my ability to get out of bed, even if I am still sleepy. It means I had a bed to sleep in and I have fully functioning body parts. As I move about my home, I am grateful for each piece of furniture that occupies my dwelling. I am thankful that I can make my first cup of coffee; thankful for the wonderful aroma of coffee brewing. I have the sense of smell and my nostrils are working as they should.

As I sit and wait for my coffee I listen to nature, the birds seem to enjoy singing to me early in the morning. Their sweet melody is music to my ears.  I look out the window and can see with my two eyes the beauty of the day. It is wonderful when the sun is shining brightly and I love it when it rains. Rain seems to always wash away and make fresh the air I can breathe. As I make my first cup of coffee I can feel the touch of the hot coffee pot, the smooth surface of the coffee cup. I can taste this delicious beverage and am extremely appreciative.

Now fully awake and functioning I can appreciate my life. I can now decide what I will think and do with this day that I have received as a Blessing. What will I leave in the space of today of my memory bank? Will it be wonder-filled, affirming thoughts and actions or negative self-defeating thoughts?

I choose this day to COUNT MY BLESSINGS, whatever they may be!!!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://revsandy.wordpress.com/2015/01/04/count-your-blessings-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I do too! ♥

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

