MEMORY

SAM_0009

What is stored in the memory of your DNA? Hope or defeat? Love or bitterness? Joy or hatred? Excitement or dread? Enthusiasm or anger? Capability or fear?

I have a friend who recently revealed a secret about himself that serves as a reminder to all of us, be aware of what you hold in your memory bank account. This friend often volunteers to read the organizational guidelines at the meetings he attends. I have been impressed by his reading ability.

While he was hospitalized I gifted him with a copy of one of my books, All My Men. This particular day, I asked him had he had an opportunity to begin reading it? I am always anxious to know what the readers think after reading one of my books. To my surprise and to his somewhat reluctance, he admitted his inability to read! That was when he shared his story with me.

During his school years he participated in a Speech Contest. One of his opponents told him, he was not going to do well because he could not read! From that point on, my friend accepted this as his reality. Understand that this was not the truth yet it became his truth. Afterall, he was competing in a Speech Contest.

He is now an adult, still unable to read as the young lady told him. When I questioned him about reading the guidelines, he told me he had committed it to his memory. This concealed the fact that he could not read.

What do you do by sheer memory? What is imbedded in you that you want to conceal? Is it the false illusion given to you from some opponent or another person? Is it real or imaginary? Is it what you want to keep in your account?

For my friend he decided it had been long enough and he sought a literacy program where he could learn the art of language and reading.

Are you ready to diffuse those limiting beliefs about who you are?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://revsandy.wordpress.com/2015/09/16/memory-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

